ISPG Honorific Awards

Congratulations to the 2017 WCPG Award Winners

Ming Tsuang Lifetime Achievement Award:
Marcella Rietschel, M.D., Ph.D., Central Institute of Mental Health
Pamela Sklar, M.D., Ph.D., Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
The Ming Tsuang Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a scientist who has made a significant contribution to the advancement in the field of psychiatric genetics. 

Theodore Reich Young Investigator Award
Jonathan Mill, Ph.D., 
Exeter University Medical School
The Theodore Reich Young Investigator Award is given for published work on psychiatric genetics that is of exceptional merit. Candidates must be 40 years or younger in 2017 for consideration and need not be members of ISPG. The award is available annually, but will not be made in the absence of any work of sufficient merit. You can submit a nomination for another scientist or for yourself. 

Gershon Paper of the Year Award
Chi-Hua Chen, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego
The International Society of Psychiatric Genetics (ISPG) presents the Gershon Paper of the Year Award to a recipient who has been published in the past year (June, 2016 to present) in the psychiatric genetics field. The submitter and first author must be a member of the ISPG. The recipient of the award will receive a plaque during the 2017 Annual Congress in Orlando, Florida.  

Richard Todd Award
Prof. Danielle Posthuma, Ph.D., 
Vrije Universiteit (VU) Amsterdam and VU University Medical Center Amsterdam
The Richard Todd Award is given each year by the International Society of Psychiatric Genetics (ISPG) to a researcher for an outstanding contribution to the genetics of child psychiatry. Richard Todd (1952-2008) was an internationally known expert on the influences of genetics and environment on psychiatric illness in children. The recipient is selected by the Awards Committee, based on abstracts accepted for oral presentation at the World Congress of Psychiatric Genetics (WCPG).

Hugh Gurling Memorial Award
The Hugh Gurling Award will be based on the best oral presentation or poster submitted at the WCPG by an eligible investigator. Eligible investigators are defined as those who are from a non-Group A World Bank country, and who reside in such a country at the time of the meeting. The winner will be honored by a certificate from the Society, and the resulting manuscript, once submitted to the journal and passing peer review, will be featured in the journal under the byline Hugh Gurling Memorial Award Paper. To apply, the applicant will have the opportunity to elect to be considered for the award during the oral/poster abstract submission process. 

2017 Hugh Gurling Finalist

Suhua Chang, Key Laboratory of Mental Health, Institute of Psychology, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Genetic Study for the Neuropsychological Function in Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

Rujia Dai, The State Key Laboratory of Medical Genetics, Central South University
Evaluation and Co-Expression of Marker Genes of Cell Types in Brain

Triptish Bhatia, PGIMER, Dr.R.M.L.Hospital  
The Effect of Parental Knowledge on Their Consent for Their Child’s Participation in Genetic Research

Verônica Luiza Euclydes, University of Sao Paulo             
Prenatal Stress and Epigenetic Profile in Neonates

Hanna Kandratsenka, The Institute of Genetics and Cytology of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus    
Are COMT, MIR137, Mthfr and DNMT3B Polymorphic Alleles Associated with Schizophrenia Symptoms Severity in Men and Women?

Diogo Marques, UNIFESP
LINE-1 Hypomethylation Might be Related to a Poor Response to Treatment

Marcos Santoro, UNIFESP  
Genome-Wide DNA Methylation Analysis in a Longitudinal Cohort of Antipsychotic-Naive First Episode of Psychosis Patients

Yan Xia, The State Key Laboratory of Medical Genetics, Central South University             
Risperidone-Induced DNA Methylation Alterations in First-Episode Drug-Naïve Schizophrenia Patients and Their Relation with Neurophysiological Phenotypes



Previous Awardees

Previous Lifetime Achievement Award Winners
1993: Seymour S. Kety and George Winokur
1995: Ming T. Tsuang
1997: Irving I. Gottesman
1999: Theodore Reich
2001: Michael Conneally
2002: Jules Angst and Nikki Erlenmeyer-Kimling
2003: C. Robert Cloninger
2004: Peter Propping
2005: NONE
2006: Elliot S. Gershon
2007: Peter McGuffin
2008: Jurg Ott.
2010: Susan E. Folstein
ispg-awards_fromer2011: Kenneth Kendler
2012: Raymond Crowe
2013: John Nurnberger
2014: Margaret Pericak-Vance
2015: Michael Owen
2016: J. Raymond DePaulo, Jr.

Previous Theodore Reich Award Winners
2004: Carol Prescott

2005: Laura Almasy and Nigel Williams
2006: Thomas G. Schulze
2007: Alexander B. Niculescu III
2008: Shaun Purcell
2009: Jonathan Sebat
2010: Elisabeth B. Binder
2011: David Glahn
ispg-awards_buxbaum2012: Danielle Dick
2013: Stephan Ripke
2014: Benjamin Neale
2015: Sarah Medland
2016: Menachem Fromer

Previous Richard Todd Award Winners
2009: Jonathan Sebat

2010: Joseph D. Buxbaum
2011: Danielle Dick
2012: Anke Hinney
2013: Geert Poelmans
2014: Nadine Provencal
2015: Christie Burton
2016: Joseph Buxbaum

ispg-awards_gershon-paper_heilbronnerPrevious Elliot Gershon Paper of the Year Award Winners
2014: Thomas W. Muhleisen

2015: Michael O’Donovan and Stephen Ripke
2016: Liping Hou, Urs Heilbronner and Franziska Degenhardt